club donny

Samira Ben Laloua (Eindhoven, NL, 1968) is a graphic designer who works and lives in Rotterdam. Ernst van der Hoeven (Frederikstad, NO, 1965) is a art historian and a landscape architect who lives and works in Amsterdam. Frank Bruggeman (Noordoostpolder, NL, 1968) is an artist from Rotterdam. Selected for On the Move: het magazine Club Donny strictly unedited journal on the personal experience of nature in the urban environment (2008-2013).

For subtitles in English, click the subtitles button on YouTube

About Club Donny strictly unedited journal on the personal experience of nature in the urban environment (2008-2013)

“How cozy does it have to be, and does it have to be cozy, in order to feel home in the city?” (Wilma Sütö) This is the opening question in the final issue of Club Donny. One of the first full-page photos in the magazine shows someone in the midst of a flowering shrub. At first glance, it seems a purely natural scene, but then roofs and an asphalt surface betray the urban setting. In the last ten issues of Club Donny and on, hundreds of writers and photographers consider the personal experience of nature in the urban environment. Each of the project’s founders – graphic designer Samira Ben Laloua, visual artist Frank Bruggeman and landscape architect and art historian Ernst van der Hoeven – was already involved with this theme individually. As editors, they have drawn no distinction between professional and amateur photographers, and have presented text and images on an equal basis. This democratic approach has resulted in refreshing, often extremely witty and complex images of the city as an extraordinarily varied “landscape.”

 Club Donny - Magazine cover number 1
Club Donny - Magazine cover number 1


Club Donny │ Marc Roig Blesa and Rogier Delfos │ Verena Blok │ Sara Blokland │Olivier van Breugel and Simone Mudde │ Persijn Broersen and Margit Lukács │ Sarah Carlier │ Elspeth Diederix │ Meike Eggers and Michael Anhalt │ Ringel Goslinga │ Rob Hornstra and Arnold van Bruggen │ Robert Knoth and Antoinette de Jong │ Thomas Kuijpers │ Kadir van Lohuizen │ Anaïs Lopez, Eva Smallegange and Linda Braber | Hans van der Meer │ Theo Niekus │ Gábor Õsz  │ Rune Peitersen │ Ahmet Polat │ Johannes Schwartz │ Petra Stavast │ Anoek Steketee and Eefje Blankevoort │ Martine Stig │ Nadine Stijns │ Andrea Stultiens │Elisabeth Tonnard │ Witho Worms and Hans Gremmen