Workshops — 14 Feb 2020

For years the Stedelijk has been organizing artists’ workshops for children, leaving the adults a bit jealous. Now we are changing this. It doesn’t matter if you’re a practiced creator or merely a beginner, everyone can participate!

Museum ticket + € 3
Studio A
14 Feb 2020, 7 pm until 9.30 pm
Main language

Esiri Erheriene-Essi uses the Xerox transfer as a graphic technique for the backgrounds of her paintings and more. This workshop, led by Erheriene-Essi and adhering to her style, offers the opportunity to start learning this technique yourself.


Esiri Erheriene-Essi (1982) creates figurative paintings about everyday scenes that offer implicit commentary about our society and history. For the Prix de Rome 2019 she recently made a new series of paintings, titled The Inheritance (or Familiar Strangers). Erheriene-Essi places ordinary moments in the lives of black people in the spotlight. The result is a series of paintings that everyone can connect with, encouraging us to think about the lives of the people who are depicted and the historical events they may have witnessed.

Esiri Erheriene-Essi, The Inheritance (or Familiar Strangers), 2019. Prix de Rome 2019. Photo: Daniel Nicolas
Esiri Erheriene-Essi, The Inheritance (or Familiar Strangers), 2019. Prix de Rome 2019. Photo: Daniel Nicolas


The Prix de Rome is the oldest and most generous prize in the Netherlands for visual artists under the age of 40, and architects under the age of 35. The aim of the prize is to promote talented artists, and support their development and visibility. The Mondriaan Fund has been responsible for organizing the award since 2012, and is working with the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam on this year’s edition. Rory Pilgrim received the Prix de Rome Visual Arts 2019 award on 31 October for his work The Undercurrent. The exhibition is accompanied by a publication with texts by Sacha Bronwasser, Maarten Buser, Brenda Tempelaar and Sophia Zürcher, published by Jap Sam Books. The Stedelijk’s programming recently featured shows by previous participants, such as Magali Reus (winner 2015) and Saskia Noor van Imhoff (nominated in 2017). 

More info: