News — 22 Jan 2012

In New York, CCS Bard has announced that Ann Goldstein will be honored with the Award for Curatorial Excellence in 2012.

For fifteen years, the Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College has celebrated and awarded the individual achievements of a leading curator or curators whose lasting contributions have shaped the way we conceive of exhibition-making today. Past recipients include Harald Szeemann (1998), Marcia Tucker (1999), Kasper König (2000), Paul Schimmel (2001), Susanne Ghez (2002), Kynaston McShine (2003), Walter Hopps (2004), Kathy Halbreich and Mari Carmen Ramírez (2005), Lynne Cooke and Vasif Kortun (2006), Alanna Heiss (2007), Catherine David (2008), Okwui Enwezor (2009), Lucy Lippard (2010), Helen Molesworth (2011), and Hans Ulrich Obrist (2011).

Ann Goldsteins’ personal reaction to the news:

“It is a tremendous thrill to be recognized with this extraordinary honor—and I am particularly proud to be the first to receive the Award as it is now endowed by Audrey Irmas. I feel deeply privileged to be receiving this very special acknowledgment from Bard's internationally renowned program and to be included among such an esteemed group of previous awardees, whose remarkable curatorial work has raised the bar of excellence for the entire profession. I am indebted to those colleagues who have supported and inspired me over the years and remain especially grateful to the artists with whom I have been so incredibly fortunate to work.”

More information on the CCS Bard Award 2012