Prize for Young Art Criticism 2016
16 Dec 2016

M HKA, Antwerp
4:30 - 8 pm
By email to info@jongekunstkritiek.net

By email to info@jongekunstkritiek.net

The Prize for Young Art Criticism (Prijs voor de Jonge Kunstkritiek) is meant to stimulate young art critics and increase the media attention for criticism and journalism on the visual arts, in the Dutch language. The organizers and jury are pleased to announce the nominees for the Prize for Young Art Criticism 2016:

Review                                                                      Essay

- Sébastien Hendrickx                                             - Laurie Cluitmans
- Julia Mullié                                                                - Nele Wynants
- Brenda Tempelaar                                                  - Sophia Zürcher

During the festive award ceremony on Friday, December 16 2016, the winners in the Review (first prize € 2,500 and a mentorship by Sandra Smallenburg) and Essay (first prize € 2,500 and a mentorship by Sven Lütticken) categories will be announced at the M HKA in Antwerp. The ceremony will start at 4.30 pm, followed by drinks at the M HKAFE until 20 pm.

No first prize will be awarded in the Innovative Criticism category, as the jury was unable to select one exclusive winner. Two stimulation awards will be offered to nominees who will be announced during the event.

The jury for this fifth edition of the Prize for Young Art Criticism once again is led by Sandra Smallenburg (art editor, NRC Handelsblad) and further consists of Jan Postma (art critic and editor, De Groene Amsterdammer; former editor-in-chief, Hard//Hoofd), Wouter Hillaert (freelance critic and stage arts editor, Rekto:Verso), Max Bruinsma (independent design and art critic), Anne Ruygt (freelance art historian and curator) and Dave Mestdach (film critic, Knack Focus).


Please send an email with your full name, your email address and your telephone number to info@jongekunstkritiek.net, with the mention ‘Uitreiking Prijs voor de Jonge Kunstkritiek 16 december 2016 @M HKA’.

This award was initiated by de Appel arts centre Amsterdam, Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art Rotterdam and the Mondriaan Fonds, in collaboration with Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, STUK - Huis voor Dans, Beeld en Geluid Leuven, M HKA and Van Abbemuseum Eindhoven.

For more information, please email info@jongekunstkritiek.net or see www.jongekunstkritiek.net.